Solo for Viola and Piano

6. prosinec 2021

St Agnes Convent6 December 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Benjamin Britten: Prelude and Fugue for 18-part String Orchestra
Paul Hindemith: Trauermusik for viola and string orchestra
Petr Fiala: Concert Music for viola and string orchestra
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 27
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25

Chuhei Iwasaki – conductor
Kristina Fialová – viola
Jan Čmejla – piano

The second concert at the St Agnes Convent commenced with eighteen string instrument players, who performed Britten's energetic Prelude and Fugue. The great Czech violist Kristina Fialová then made her instrument shine in two compositions.

Kristina Fialová | Sólo pro violu a klavír | Anežský klášter, 6. prosince 2021

First, she played Trauermusic (Music of Mourning), composed by the German composer Paul Hindemith composed in one day in 1936 as a response to the death of King George V of England. The spontaneous composition is now one of the most poignant works of this composer. She also performed a Concert Music for viola and string orchestra by the distinguished choirmaster and composer Petr Fiala. Then the orchestra expanded and played Mendelssohn's overture Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, inspired by the verses of Johann Wolfgang Goethe.

Jan Čmejla | Sólo pro violu a klavír | Anežský klášter, 6. prosince 2021

The programme concluded with the Concerto in G minor by the same author, in which was the orchestra accompanied by the winner of the radio competition Concertino Praga from 2019, the exceptionally talented young pianist Jan Čmejla.

Dear audience,
We apologize for the change in the programme, originally the composition Virus by Zbyněk Matějů was to be performed by violist Jitka Hosprová, who for personal reasons cannot attend the concert. Therefore, we have prepared an equally attractive programme with violist Kristina Fialová. Thank you for your understanding.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio