World Premiere – Written for PRSO

28. červen 2022

Rudolfinum, 28 June 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Dear subscribers, dear listeners,

we have found a new alternative date for the cancelled concert on April 11, 2022. We will present the concert on Tuesday, June 28, 2022 at the Rudolfinum at 7:30 pm. In agreement with the conductor, we have decided to change the programme of the second part of the concert. The opening pieces by C. Debussy and O. Štochl remain unchanged in the programme. The works by Erkki-Sven Tür and J. Sibelius will be replaced by Claude Debussy's Première rapsodie for clarinet and orchestra and Maurice Ravel's Rapsodie espagnole.

Tickets from the previous date remain valid and do not need to be exchanged.
Thank you for your understanding and we look forward to more musical experiences.


Claude Debussy: Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
Ondřej Štochl: Three Movements on Acceptance for Clarinet and Orchestra, world premier of new composition commissioned by PRSO
Claude Debussy: Première rapsodie for clarinet and orchestra
Maurice Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole

Pavel Šnajdr – conductor
Karel Dohnal – clarinet

Pavel Šnajdr, conductor of the opera of the National Theatre in Brno and founder of the Brno Contemporary Orchestra, with whom he appeared at the Prague Spring Festival, has emerged as one of the most important domestic conductors focusing on the works of contemporary composers. He has invited the leading clarinettist Karel Dohnal to collaborate with him and will give the world premiere of a new work by Ondřej Štochl. The Czech composer, primarily an author of chamber works characterised by vivid instrumentation and meditative passages, has composed a piece for clarinet and orchestra at the direct commission of PRSO. The evening will open with one of the most famous works of French impressionism, Debussy's Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun followed in the second half by Karel Dohnal's melodious Première rapsodie for clarinet and orchestra. The summer atmosphere of the concert is punctuated by the colourfully refined and spirited Rapsodie espagnole by Debussy's younger contemporary, Maurice Ravel. 

author: SOČR
Spustit audio