Alexander Liebreich and Leila Josefowicz

13. červen 2022

Rudolfinum, 13 June 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Josef Suk: Praga, Symphonic Poem, Op. 26
Karl Amadeus Hartmann: Concerto funebre for Violin and String Orchestra
Richard Strauss: Alpine Symphony, Op. 64

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Leila Josefowicz – violin

Alexander Liebreich invited in the American star violinist Leila Josefowicz for the final concert of the season. The PRSO Chief Conductor already performed Alban Berg's Violin Concerto with her and the orchestra. This time they will play the Concerto funebre, Karl Amadeus Hartmann's funereal concerto. Liebreich's fellow countryman started writing it in 1939 as a reaction to the Nazi occupation of Czechoslovakia and as a symbol of solidarity he incorporated into it the famous Hussite anthem Ktož jsú boží bojovníci (Ye Who Are Warriors of God), which is central to Czech musical culture. We can hear its best known treatment in the symphonic poems Tábor and Blaník from Smetana's cycle My Homeland, but allusions to it can also be found in the first work on the programme, the monumental symphonic poem Praga, by which Josef Suk, the most significant pupil of Antonín Dvořák, pays tribute to the Czech capital. This Czech-Bavarian programme will culminate with a performance of the monumental Alpine Symphony by Richard Strauss.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio