Sergey Khachatryan plays Brahms

18. říjen 2021

Rudolfinum, 18 October 2021 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.

Felix Mendelssohn-BartholdyPsalms 43 "Richte mich, Gott", Op. 78 No. 2
Igor Stravinsky:
Symphony of Psalms
Johannes Brahms: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Op. 77

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Sergey Khachatryan – violin
Prague Philharmonic Choir
Lukáš Vasilek – choirmaster

Three masterpieces will come together in the second subscriber concert of the Radio symphony orchestra. The evening will open with Psalm 43 "Richte mich, Gott" for a cappella choir by German Romantic composer Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. The first half of the evening culminates with Symphony of Psalms by Igor Stravinsky under the steady hand of chief conductor Alexander Liebreich. Spring of 2021 marked 50 years since the death of this Russian composer, who wrote it in 1930 at the commission of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and conductor Serge Koussevitzky. Stravinsky interpreted the publisher's wish that he write "something popular" in his own way and set to music the "ever popular" verses of the Old Testament Psalms. This gave rise to a work both monumental and mystical, in which the voices of the Prague Philharmonic Choir and the artistry of the orchestra members shine out, in particular the wind instrument players.

After the break, the orchestra will be joined by one of the best violinists of the present day, the Armenian musician, a native of Yerevan, Sergey Khachatryan. This winner of the 2005 Queen Elisabeth Music Competition has worked with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Myung-Whun Chung and Jakub Hrůša, and will perform the Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, which Johannes Brahms composed for his friend Joseph Joachim.

The Concert is dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the independence of the Republic of Armenia. The concert is under the patronage of H. E. Ashot Hovakimian, Ambassador of the Republic of Armenia to the Czech Republic.

Pre-concert talk
Rudolfinum | Talich's Lounge | 1st floor | 6:30 – 7:15 p.m.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio