PRSO & Ion Marin

25. říjen 2021

Rudolfinum, 25 October 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 4 in C minor "Tragic"
Gustav Mahler: Adagio from Symphony No. 10
Maurice Ravel: La Valse

Ion Marin – conductor

The city of Vienna is the unifying theme of the programme the radio symphony orchestra will be offering to Prague audiences along with Austrian conductor Ion Marin (born in Romania). The Austrian capital was the home of early Romantic composer Franz Schubert, author of the "Tragic" Symphony No. 4, as well as the fated city of Gustav Mahler, a native of Kaliště u Humpolce. His last completed composition, the Adagio from Symphony No. 10, could be thought to symbolically close out the Romantic era, while also heading for the distant future with its boldness. The evening closes with the acoustically subtle while at the same time bombastic dance poem La Valse, which was the tribute of Frenchman Maurice Ravel – albeit at points ironic – to the Viennese waltz.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio