Leila Josefowicz plays Berg

9. březen 2020

Rudolfinum, 9 March 2020 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.




Viktor Ullmann: Overture to "Der zerbrochene Krug"
Alban Berg: Violin Concerto
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Leila Josefowicz – violin

One of the main stars of the season will be the American violinist Leila Josefowicz, who has performed with such orchestras as the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Berlin Philharmonic and the New York and Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestras. Alongside the members of the PRSO she will present Alban Berg's Violin Concerto, to the Memory of an Angel. The Austrian composer wrote it in 1935 in the memory of the prematurely deceased Manon Gropius, the daughter of Alma Mahler and the architect Walter Gropius.

The story gave birth to an exceptionally compelling work combining dodecaphony with tonality as well as the music of Johann Sebastian Bach. The programme opens with the Overture to The Broken Jug by Berg's younger contemporary, the Czech-Jewish composer Viktor Ullmann. The whole evening will be concluded with Johannes Brahms's Symphony No. 1. that the Chief Conductor, Alexander Liebreich, describes to be an extraordinary experience.

Come in advance and discover the secrets of Berg's Violin Concerto interpreted by Leila Josefowicz! Rudolfinum | Western Lounge | 1st floor |18:30–19:15

Ticket prices: 900 Kč | 750 Kč | 600 Kč | 400 Kč | 250 Kč | 150 Kč

Spustit audio