The Four Seasons

6. červen 2022

St Agnes Convent, 6 June 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Antonio Vivaldi: The Four Seasons, Op. 8 
Astor Piazzolla: The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Vlastimil Kobrle – violin
David Pokorný – violin

Listeners can get to know the leading figures of the radio symphony orchestra, concertmaster Vlastimil Kobrle and principle second violin David Pokorný, at the final concert at the St Agnes Convent. Together the two musicians will conduct a dialogue across continents, centuries and musical styles. Accompanied by the orchestra, the former will lead us through one of the most popular works of classical music, four concerti by the Baroque Italian master Antonio Vivaldi entitled The Four Seasons. The latter will then present a modern response to Vivaldi's opus, the groovy Four Seasons of Buenos Aires by Astor Piazzolla. This famous composer and player of the bandoneon, a special kind of accordion, an artiste who popularised the Argentine tango worldwide, wrote this composition for his own band. The concert will feature this work in a version for violins and string orchestra, created at the urging of legendary Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer by Russian composer Leonid Desyatnikov.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio