Christmas at St Agnes - Alternative date – CANCELLED

28. leden 2022

St Agnes Convent, 28 January 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Dear audience,
we apologize, but due to the illness of Covid-19, it is not possible to realize the alternative date of the Christmas in Agnes concert, which was to take place on Friday, January 28, 2022. The current situation is very difficult, so we are now cancelling the concert without an alternative date, and will try to include it in the programme when the epidemic situation is calmer and we are all healthier.

We will be refunding ticket holders who have purchased tickets in full.

Thank you for your understanding.
Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Johann Baptist Georg Neruda: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat major
Peteris Vasks: Epifania
Antonio Vivaldi: Violin Concerto in E major "Il riposo, concerto per il Santissimo Natale"
Jana Vöröšová: The Boy and Distance, world premiere of a composition for children's choir and orchestra commissioned by PRSO

Marek Šedivý – conductor
Marek Vajo – trumpet
Olga Šroubková – violin
Czech Radio Children's Choir
Věra Hrdinková – choirmaster

A Christmas evening with PRSO will bring both old and new music to the table. The orchestra's trumpet player Marek Vajo will establish a festive atmosphere at the very outset, performing the popular Trumpet Concerto by classical Czech master Johann Baptist Georg Neruda. This will be followed by Epifania, a lyrical and meditative composition from probably the most important contemporary Latvian composer Peteris Vasks. Also joining the orchestra will be one of the most striking violinists of the young generation, Olga Šroubková. She will play Vivaldi's Violin Concerto in E major, the mystically hushed mood of which evokes Christmas night.

The whole evening will culminate with a new work by Jana Vöröšová. This leading Czech composer and winner of the Czech Philharmonic's composition competition from 2018 was commissioned by PRSO to compose a piece for children's choir and chamber orchestra based on the book The Boy and Distance by Daisy Mrázková. This timeless narrative intended for both children and adults takes place in images of a winter landscape and provides access to an understanding of natural phenomena, while also presenting contemplation on the deeper meaning of human existence in the form of poetic shorthand.

Ticket prices: 390 CZK | 290 CZK

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio