A Faust Symphony

9. květen 2022

Rudolfinum, 9 May 2022 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.

Franz Liszt: A Faust Symphony

Marek Šedivý – conductor
Jaroslav Březina – tenor
Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno
Petr Fiala – choirmaster

Goethe’s drama in verse, The Faust, became a wellspring of inspiration for many musical composers. Franz Liszt, today known primarily as an author of piano compositions, wrote his Faust in the mid-1850s. The outcome was a full-length Faust Symphony in three characteristic sketches named after the three main characters of the play – Faust, Gretchen and Mephistopheles. The monumental work created for a large orchestra with an organ, male chorus and a tenor solo was chosen by the orchestra’s Principal Guest Conductor Marek Šedivý for his second subscriber concert. His rendition promises to be one of the highlights of the season.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio