12. únor 2024

Rudolfinum, 12 February 2024 at 7.30 pm.

Josef Suk: A Fairy Tale, op. 16
Miroslav Srnka: Standstill for harpsichord and orchestra, Czech premiere, co-commissioned by the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra
Bedřich Smetana (arr. George Szell): String Quartet No. 1 in E minor “From my life”

Petr Popelka conductor
Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

The music of three different Czech composers will be combined in the February concert of the chief conductor Petr Popelka. The evening will open with the poetic A Fairy Tale, an orchestral suite that Josef Suk created from his incidental music to Julius Zeyer’s play Radúz and Mahulena. The orchestra will then be joined by the excellent harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani for the Czech premiere of Standstill, a piece by leading Czech composer Miroslav Srnka co-commissioned by the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne. The second half of the evening will be dedicated to Smetana’s famous String Quartet No. 1 in E minor, called “From My Life”, which was arranged for symphony orchestra by George Szell. The Hungarian-born conductor led the orchestra of the German Municipal theatre in Prague at the turn of the 1910s and 1920s, and later became famous above all as music director of the orchestra in Cleveland, America, to which he brought worldwide acclaim. In the United States, he was one of the promoters of the work of Bedřich Smetana. In the arrangement of Smetana’s quartet, he was able to transfer supremely chamber music into rich orchestral colours without losing the intimacy of the original work.

Meeting with the artists before the concert
Rudolfinum | Talich Lounge | 1st floor | 6.30–7.15 pm

Ticket prices: CZK 1100 | CZK 900 | CZK 700 | CZK 500 | CZK 300 | CZK 180

The organiser reserves the right to changes in the list of scheduled performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio