29. duben 2024

Rudolfinum, 29 April 2024 at 7.30 pm.

Josef Suk: Fantastic Scherzo, op. 25
Antonín Dvořák: The Golden Spinning Wheel, symphonic poem, op. 109
Bohuslav Martinů: Czech Rhapsody, H. 118

Petr Altrichter conductor
Ivan Kusnjer baritone
Daniela Valtová Kosinová organ
Czech Philharmonic Choir of Brno
Petr Fiala choirmaster

The renowned conductor Petr Altrichter will present a programme of music by three generations of Czech composers with the PRSO who are interconnected by the teacher-student relationship. Josef Suk, whose brilliant Fantastic Scherzo will be performed as the first piece, was a student of Antonín Dvořák, the author of the symphonic poem The Golden Spinning Wheel, inspired by the ballad of the same name from Karel Jaromír Erben’s collection A Bouquet of Czech Folktales. The evening will culminate with the Czech Rhapsody, a cantata for baritone, organ and orchestra. The young Bohuslav Martinů, a student of Josef Suk, composed it in 1918, the year when Czechoslovakia gained its independence. In his patriotic work, he used the text of a biblical psalm, the poem Bohemia by Jaroslav Vrchlický, and the Saint Wenceslas Chorale. He dedicated the piece to the writer Alois Jirásek. The successful premiere took place in 1919 in the presence of the president of the newly established republic, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk.

Ticket prices: CZK 1100 | CZK 900 | CZK 700 | CZK 500 | CZK 300 | CZK 180

The organiser reserves the right to changes in the list of scheduled performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio