New Year's Concert

2. leden 2024

Rudolfinum, 2 January 2024 at 7.30 pm.

Bedřich Smetana: The Bartered Bride, overture and three dances from the opera
Richard Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite
George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Petr Popelka conductor
Eldar Djangirov piano

The New Year’s concert of the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra will be performed to the rhythms of dance. In the first half of the evening, the dances will be more traditional: Polka, Furiant and Dance of the Comedians from Smetana’s Bartered Bride and the waltz-based Suite from the opera Der Rosenkavalier by Richard Strauss.

In the second half, top jazz pianist Eldar Djangirov will join the orchestra and chief conductor Petr Popelka to perform a solo part of George Gershwin’s popular Rhapsody in Blue. The gala evening will culminate in a light-hearted performance of Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, an iconic musical in which Leonard Bernstein was able to uniquely combine the influence of classical music, jazz and elements borrowed from Latin American dance music.

Ticket prices: CZK 1 100 | CZK 900 | CZK 700 | CZK 500 | CZK 300 | CZK 180

The organiser reserves the right to changes in the list of scheduled performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio