Ilan Volkov – 20th Century Classic

22. leden 2024

Rudolfinum, 22 January 2024 at 7.30 pm.
Open dress rehearsal at 10.00 am.

Viktor Kalabis: Symphonic Variations, op. 24
Benjamin Britten: Sinfonia da Requiem, op. 20
Martin Smolka: Nostalgia
Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 7 in C sharp minor, op. 131

Ilan Volkov conductor

A varied programme combining music by Czech, English and Russian composers will feature a guest appearance by leading Israeli conductor Ilan Volkov. The evening will open with Symphonic Variations, composed by Viktor Kalabis at the instigation of the Czech Philharmonic and its former chief conductor Václav Neumann. This will be followed by the Sinfonia da Requiem, whose title and the titles of the individual movements refer to the Latin Mass for the dead. Twenty-six-year-old Benjamin Britten composed the work in 1940 as a requiem for his parents. It also reflected the dark atmosphere of the beginning of the Second World War. After the break, the programme will continue with Nostalgia, a composition written by leading contemporary composer Martin Smolka for the Prague Spring Festival in 2004. The evening will culminate with the Seventh Symphony, the last great work by Sergei Prokofiev. The composition was commissioned by the editors of children and youth programmes at Moscow Radio. Although playful motifs referring to the world of childhood can be detected in it, Prokofiev created an elaborate work whose melancholic tone irritated the Soviet authorities so much that they demanded that the seriously ill composer rework it.

Meeting with the artists before the concert
Rudolfinum | Talich Lounge | 1st floor | 6.30–7.15 pm

Ticket prices: CZK 1 100 | CZK 900 | CZK 700 | CZK 500 | CZK 300 | CZK 180

The organiser reserves the right to changes in the list of scheduled performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio