Written for the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra: Martin Smolka

5. prosinec 2022

Rudolfinum, 5 December 2022 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9.30 a.m.

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 60 in C major "Il Distratto"
Martin Smolka: Presto e lentonew work for piano and orchestra commissioned by PRSO, world premier
Richard Strauss: Symphonia Domestica

Petr Popelka conductor
Nicolas Hodges piano

The Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra regularly commissions works by contemporary composers and performs them in world premieres. The first such venture for chief conductor Petr Popelka will be the staging of a new composition for piano and orchestra by Martin Smolka, whose works are performed by leading European orchestras, including the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. The soloist is Nicolas Hodges, one of the best pianists specialising in contemporary music. The programme opens with a playful symphony full of surprising twists and turns, in the third movement of which Joseph Haydn also prescribed the orchestra's tuning. The evening will conclude with one of Richard Strauss's supreme symphonic poems, Symphonia domestica, the composer's intimate reflection on family life.

The project has been made possible thanks to financial support from the City of Prague, State Fund of Culture of the Czech republic and Prague and OSA.

Meet-up with the artists before the concert
Rudolfinum | Talich Lounge | 1st floor | 6.30–7.15 pm

Ticket prices: 900 CZK | 750 CZK | 600 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio