Strauss & Beethoven – CANCELLED

19. říjen 2020

Rudolfinum, 19 October, 7:30 pm. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 am.

Richard Strauss: Burlesque for Piano and Orchestra in D Minor
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major, op. 92

John Axelrod – conductor
Ivo Kahánek – piano

Ivo Kahánek, one of the most in-demand Czech pianists of the present day, recent winner of an Angel award and an award from the prestigious BBC Music Magazine, will perform Richard Strauss’s Burlesque with the Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra. The German composer known mainly as the author of symphonic poems, operas and Lieder, wrote it at the tender age of twenty-one for the famous conductor and pianist Hans von Bülow, who appointed Strauss as his assistant at the court orchestra in Meinigen. Strauss’s mentor refused to play the virtuoso work that was substantially influenced by the music of Johannes Brahms, however. Even so, the Burlesque later became a constant fixture in many pianists’ repertoires and its playfulness and the virtuosity of the solo part make it popular with audiences. The evening under the baton of American conductor John Axelrod, who returns to the orchestra after his success with Leonard Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, will continue with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony in A Major. This “apotheosis of dance”, as the work full of lively rhythmic ideas is sometimes called, is one of the most popular pieces composed by Beethoven, whose 250th birthday will be celebrated throughout the music world this December.

Ticket prices: 900 Kč | 750 Kč | 600 Kč | 400 Kč | 250 Kč | 150 Kč

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

For safety reasons, the originally planned programme has been replaced by the above programme. We decided to change the programme because of the new measures announced by the Czech government and for preventive reasons (the number of performers for some pieces). Thank you for your understanding.

Spustit audio