Oscar-winning Music by E. W. Korngold

28. listopad 2022

Rudolfinum, 28 November 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Adventures of Robin Hood Suite
Richard Strauss: Burleske for Piano and Orchestra in D minor
Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Symphony in F sharp

John Axelrod conductor
Ivo Kahánek piano

The exceptionally talented Brno-born Erich Wolfgang Korngold made history first and foremost as the founder of the characteristic genre of Hollywood film music, whose legacy is still drawn upon by many composers today, including the legendary John Williams. In his return to the Radio Symphony, American conductor John Axelrod will put Korngold's personality in a broader context. Korngold will be recognised as the composer of the music for the film The Adventures of Robin Hood, for which he won his second Oscar, and as a composer of concert music, in particular the post-war Symphony in F sharp major, dedicated to the memory of Franklin Delano Roosevelt. The programme will be completed by the Burlesque by Korngold's older contemporary Richard Strauss, featuring Ivo Kahánek, one of the most sought-after Czech pianists today.

Ticket prices: 900 CZK | 750 CZK | 600 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio