Christmas at St Agnes online

21. prosinec 2020

St. Agnes Convent, 21 December 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

We have prepared an Advent concert for you that will take place without an audience, but you can still enjoy it via live stream on our FB profile, or you can listen thanks to a live broadcast on the station Czech Radio Vltava starting at 7.30 pm.

Arcangelo Corelli: Concerto grosso in G minor, Op. 6 N. 8 g "Christmas Concerto"
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Exsultate, jubilate, motet for soprano and orchestra K 165
Jan Václav Hugo Voříšek: Symphony in D major, Op. 23

Marek Šedivý – conductor
Olga Jelínková - soprano 
Vlastimil Kobrle – violin
Petr Zdvihal – violin
Pavel Ludvík – cello

The orchestra's concertmasters, violinists Vlastimil Kobrle and Petr Zdvihal and cellist Pavel Ludvik, will open with the Christmas Concerto by composer Arcangelo Corelli, who played a key role in developing the concerto grosso format.

The programme will continue with one of the most beautiful spiritual works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, the motet Exsultate, jubilate for soprano and orchestra. The Salzburg native composed it with a characteristic celebratory and joyous mood in 1773 in Milan following a successful performance of the opera Lucio Silla. Two versions of the manuscript have been preserved, with one of them predestining it to be performed at Christmas.

The evening will culminate with the sole symphony of Czech composer, pianist, organist and conductor from the turn of the Classical and Romantic periods, Jan Václav Hugo Voříšek. He was a student of Václav Jan Tomášek and visited Beethoven in Vienna, who expressed praise for his piano Rhapsody. Voříšek's Symphony in D major, an incredibly imaginative, formally vested work, scintillating with energy and ideas, numbers among his top works and stands up to comparison with the symphonies of Beethoven or Schubert.

We trust that you will enjoy this form of concert and it will bring a pleasant Christmas atmosphere into your home. We look forward to seeing you in person at concerts soon.

Spustit audio