Celebrate with Beethoven

25. září 2020

Rudolfinum, 25 September 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

Toshio Hosokawa: Meditation, to the victims of Tsunami in March 2011
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Alban Gerhardt – cello

This opening concert, to be performed under extraordinary circumstances, will not include Beethoven's "Ode to Joy" Symphony No. 9. However, the audience will not be deprived of music from this composer, born in Bonn 250 years ago. During the second half of the concert they will be able to hear the Cello Concerto in B minor, one of Antonín Dvořák's best works and one of the most popular cello concertos of all time.

The solo part will be performed by one of the best German instrumentalists of our time, Alban Gerhardt, who performs with orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. This is to be a return to the radio symphony orchestras for Gerhardt: he performed with them at Alexander Liebreich's very first concert in 2017, Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1. The evening's programme will start with Toshia Hosokawa's Meditation, which was an immediate reaction to the earthquake and devastating tsunami that led to the Fukushima nuclear power plant accident in 2011, when thousands of people died. Hosokawa dedicated this work to those victims. The chief conductor of the radio orchestras, Alexander Liebreich, who has had a long-standing creative collaboration with one of Japan's most significant composers, premièred Meditation in Tongyeong, South Korea. The first half of the evening's programme will be brought to a close with Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No. 1 in C major, which the young composer dedicated to his patron, Baron Gottfried van Swieten.

Ticket prices: 1 800 Kč | 1 250 Kč | 800 Kč | 400 Kč | 250 Kč | 150 Kč

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

Spustit audio