Benjamin Grosvenor plays Britten – CANCELLED

8. únor 2021

On the day of the concert, we will broadcast a live program from Studio 1 of the Czech Radio at the ČRo Vltava station. We will specify the program in the coming days.

Benjamin Britten: An American Overture
Benjamin Britten: Piano concerto, Op. 13
William Walton: Symphony No. 1

Benjamin Grosvenor – piano
Jessica Cottis – conductor

Following her successful concert at the Prague Spring festival, Conductor Jessica Cottis returns to the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra in order to present a programme dedicated to English music. It begins with the American Overture that, as the title indicates, Benjamin Britten wrote during the Second World War in the United States. Then one of the most talented British pianists, Benjamin Grosvenor, will play the slightly older Piano Concerto from the same author, characteristic for its energy and humour. At twenty-eight years, Grosvenor, who performed the work, for example, at the BBC Proms, has worked with orchestras such as the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Chicago or Boston Symphony orchestras, and with conductors such as Riccardo Chailly, Kent Nagano and Semyon Bychkov. The Australian conductor, who currently resides in London, will conclude the evening with the masterful First Symphony by William Walton, the performance of which offers the audience to get to know the music of this composer.

The organizers reserves the right to change the program and performers.

Spustit audio