Lucas & Arthur Jussen

16. červen 2025

Rudolfinum, Monday 16 June 2025 at 7.30 pm
Public dress rehearsal at 10.00 am

Buy subscription

Jiří Kadeřábek: S – C – S, commissioned composition, world premiere 15 min.
Francis Poulenc: Concerto for Two Pianos 20 min.
break 20 min.

Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra 36 min.

Petr Popelka conductor
Lucas and Arthur Jussen piano

Brothers Lucas and Arthur Jussen from the Netherlands are considered the best piano duo of today. They have been performing together for almost twenty years, which, given their young age, really means since their childhood. They play both four hands on one piano and two pianos, and in both ways they inspire awe, wonder, and enthusiasm. If the problem with almost every piano duo is not always precise synchronisation of keystrokes, which is to some extent understandable, this duo makes it seem as if any such impreciseness was impossible. They demonstrate their skill in Francis Poulenc’s Concerto for Two Pianos, a neoclassical, almost Mozartian work from 1932, featuring a charming dialogue between two soloists. According to the Anglophone media, the music of Zlín-born Jiří Kadeřábek, our contemporary, is expertly crafted and irresistible in its playful banter, impressive, serious and amusing, almost always revealing a mischievous twist. It is also said to be reminiscent of Picasso’s cubist paintings. The composition S – C – S refers to the historical forms of sinfonia, concerto grosso and solo concerto. It traces the development from purely orchestral music through a concert of soloists with orchestra to a concert of one soloist with orchestra. It uses this concept as a skeleton that protects the organs and to which the muscles are attached. Lyrical, dramatic, profound and virtuosic, Béla Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra treats the instrumental groups like soloists. The work is a veritable musical firework, topped by a masterful counterpoint of multiple themes, from folk melodies to swirling perpetual motion. It is a distinctive synthesis of innovation and emotionality.

The concert is broadcast live by Czech Radio station Vltava. Czech Radio D-dur broadcasts the concert every following Wednesday.

Come early!

Meeting with the artists before the concert

Rudolfinum | Talich Lounge | 1st floor | 6.30–7.15 pm

Individual tickets: CZK 1,100 | CZK 900 | CZK 700 | CZK 500 | CZK 300 | CZK 180

Small subscription, 6 concerts: CZK 3,200 | CZK 2,800 | CZK 2,400 | CZK 2,000 | CZK 1,600

Large subscription, 12 concerts: CZK 4,500 | CZK 4,100 | CZK 3,700 | CZK 3,400 | CZK 2,100 

The organiser reserves the right to change the list of scheduled performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio