Inaugural Concert of Alexander Liebreich

5. listopad 2018

The first concert with Alexander Liebreich in the position of principal conductor and artistic director of the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra presented a programme combining a German and Slavic repertoire.

The evening begun with the overture from the last opera by Carl Maria von Weber, Oberon and Richard Strauss's Oboe Concerto. The German composer wrote this graceful and lyrical work with tragic undertones at the end of his life in Garmisch-Partenkirchen immediately following the close of the Second World War.

The next part of the programme was Mussorgsky's dramatic and effective Night on the Bare Mountain and Janáček's rhapsody Taras Bulba, inspired by Gogol's novella about the life of a Cossack Ataman and his two sons.

Richard Strauss: Oboe Concerto

Modest P. Mussorgsky: Night on the Bare Mountain

Leoš Janáček: Taras Bulba

Alexander Liebreich conductor
Vilém Veverka oboe