Alexander Liebreich presents Bruckner

29. duben 2019

Rudolfinum, 29 April 2019 at 7:30 p.m. Public Dress Rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.



Witold Lutoslawski: Musique funèbre
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 in E major

Alexander Liebreich - conductor

Alexander Liebreich has much experience with Polish music as a conductor. He acquired it while at the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice. It can thus be expected that his performance of Musique funèbre for a string orchestra by Witold Lutoslawski will be extremely informed. The main number of the evening however will be Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 7.

The Austrian dedicated this work, over an hour in length, to Ludwig II of Bavaria, but the score contains one more dedication as well. When Bruckner was working on it, word reached him of the death of his much admired Richard Wagner. In remembrance of him he worked a lament of French horns and four Wagner tubas into the end of the lyrical second movement.

Ticket prices: CZK 550 / 450 / 400 / 350 / 220 / 100

Spustit audio